Past Congresses

2012 Snoman Congress

Snoman Congress
Clubs receiving their award for Trail Condition Reporting

The 2012 Snowmobile Congress was held on November 9 and 10, 2012 at the Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel. On Friday Nov 9th over 60 people attended the Snoman Annual General meeting. Following the meeting, a social evening was enjoyed by all.
This year the complete 2nd floor conference facilities were booked.  Starting off on Saturday morning, breakfast was served to all registered members. Following breakfast the workshops started at 9:00 am sharp. 

Snoman was pleased to offer a workshop called “Getting Youth Involved”. The workshop was presented by the Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs.  Mary Holden, Chairperson of the State Youth Program and two of youth members presented a great workshop and described how to get youth involved in snowmobile clubs.  The 27 people that attended the workshop came away excited and inspired.  As a result of this work, at least one club is working on a program and a couple other clubs are hoping to get things going in the New Year.

A “Survive outside Snowmobiling” course was presented by Adventure Smart with instructors from Winnipeg Search and Rescue Association.  Forty–nine individuals attended the workshop. One individual stated he was glad he attended and now will feel much more comfortable and confident in the event he has a break down while in the bush or on the trail.

Ernie Smelski delivered the trail signing workshop to over 60 individuals; the workshop covered all aspects of trail signing.  Over 40 clubs has representation at the workshop and this will ensure that Snoman designated trail system is signed in a consistent manner. As one first timer to a trail signing course stated he was going back to his club and will use all the information he learned and apply it to the trails.    

The Solara training workshop was well attended with over 60 people attending and 40 clubs represented. Tom Tessier from Solara gave a presentation on the units.

On Saturday evening, Snoman held its Awards Banquet with over 240 people in attendance.  After a great meal everyone was entertained by comedian and singer Tom Liske.  Master of Ceremonies Ken Lucko then guides us through the award presentations as follows:

Outstanding Snowmobiler - Ben Friesen, South East Sno-Riders
Outstanding Snowmobile Club - Swan Valley Snowmobile Club
Outstanding Groomer Operator - Roy Kryschuk, Brokenhead Trailblazers
Outstanding Snowmobile Family - Derek, Lana, Aaron & Bailey Sagert, Swan Valley Snowmobile Club
Outstanding Organized Snowmobile Related Company - Yron Manz Marine
Outstanding Snowmobile Dealership - Nickel City Motors
Mr. Harold Mattausch was recognized for his service as Past President of Snoman (1996-2000). Harold was presented with the Snoman Past Presidents ring.
The 2012 Congress was a great success with over 40 clubs represented; over 200 people attended workshops and 249 attending the award banquet.  Snoman is also pleased to recognize that 22 Manitoba Conservation staff people attended workshops and the Awards Banquet.
Mark you calendar’s as the 2013 Snoman Snowmobile Congress will be held at the same location on November 8th and 9th. Plan on attending.

Past Presidents Awards

Past Presidents
Harold Mattausch (L) with Alan Butler (R)

Harold Mattausch started snowmobiling in 1976 with a Olympic 399cc Ski-Doo that he bought from a co-worker. He spent a lot of time sledding on the floodway close to home. Wanting to experience snowmobiling somewhere else, he was invited to his friends place in Ingolf, Ontario near West Hawk Lake. One particular morning he had difficulty starting his Olympic. When he started the sled, the throttle stuck - the sled went out of control and went under the cottage through the opening assistance from a rock, and the sled then skirted the tree and headed towards the lake – undamaged. Harold, frustrated with the sled, did not want any part of it; he gave it to his friend. Shortly thereafter he bought a new 1979 Yamaha Enticer Deluxe with electric start, oil injection for $2000.00. At this time Harold really appreciated groomed snowmobile trails and joined the Snow Stompers Club (out of Winnipeg) in the Whiteshell Provincial Park area. Riding groomed trails he stated that this “really opened his eyes for groomed trails” and shortly thereafter he bought another sled for his wife and they both rode the Whiteshell trails with the Snow Stompers Club.

It was at this time he got involved with Snoman, representing Snow Stompers Club at the regional meetings in Brandon and Portage la Prairie. Harold was responsible for the newsletter/paper “Snoman News” for a few years including obtaining advertising sponsorship.

In early 1990’s, Harold was involved in the negotiations for both Provincial organizations called Snoman (areas outside the east side) and Snoway’s (Eastern Snowmobile Groups). It was at this time the Provincial Government supported one snowmobile group with discussions of a trail fee format thus “Snoman Inc.” was approved.

Harold was involved in the discussion for the Snopass collection fee and assisted in the developing the SnoFund polices. Government provided legislation in 1994 for the collection of the Snopass fee ($35.00). Harold was elected as Treasurer for Snoman. The Snoman office was originally located on Keewatin Street in Winnipeg, then moving to St. Anne’s Road in 1996.

In the Fall of 1996, he was elected as President of Snoman Inc. and kept that position until he stepped down in 2000. It was at this time the first Executive Director Bob Aitken was hired. He was involved in the development and implementation of the Sled Smart program. As well, was involved in the Can-Am Trail Association which included (Manitoba, Canada and Minnesota, USA). Snoman Inc. was also involved in the development of Ride Dry Program with the RCMP.

In 1997, Harold, his wife Margaret and their two sons moved to Lee River where he joined the Lee River Snowmobile Club. He was president of Lee River Club for two years and Director for Eastern Region Snowmobile Association until 2006. Harold retired in 2004 from CN after providing 35 years of service. Today Harold drives a school bus for the Sunrise School Division in Lac de Bonnet area and continues to enjoy out door activities.

Past Regional Directors

Past Regional Directors
(L to R) Joe Thievin [Interlake Region], Rob Vipond [Northern Region], Richard Romaniuk [MB Conservation]. Missing: Tom Schindel, Wayne Vandersteen & Greg Shabaga


Past Regional Directors
Ernie Smelski (left) accepting the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal from Alan Butler (right)

A special award was presented to Snoman Past President Ernie Smelski.  Ernie was presented with the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Award. The award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated exemplary service in organizations, community, province and country.  Ernie has been on the Snoman Board of Directors since 2000 serving as Vice President, President and still activity involved as Past President.


Past Regional Directors
Association of Wisconsin Snowmobile Clubs (AWSC) with Alan Butler (Middle) & Linda Butler (Far right)